Promote your business in your town. Call a Promoter now!
Find everything in your Town, Village or Beach
Information A-Z  More  Home

Costa Rica Provinces

Spanish Version
German Version
Read the short description below or click on the links or map for more information:
Alajuela Cartago Guanacaste Heredia Limón Puntarenas San José

Costa Rica Map of Provinces:

Costa Rica Map of the Provinces by 1 - Costa Rica Link !

Costa Rica has seven Provinces. Provinces are actually legal areas of the country, each with its own Capital, local court system and building guidelines, etc.

Alajuela Province

With the following Cantons: Alajuela   San Ramón   Grecia   San Mateo   Atenas   Naranjo   Palmares   Poás   Orotina   San Carlos   Alfaro Ruíz   Valverde Vega   Upala   Los Chiles  and Guatuso.

The area of the Alajuela Province stretches from the Central Highlands with the capital Alajuela, the second biggest town of Costa Rica, the Volcano Poás, and La Paz waterfalls with the biggest butterfly farm of the world, to the Northern Plains, with the Volcano Arenal, its Hot Springs, and Waterfalls, all way up to Nicaragua and has the longest border with this country. Alajuela has lots of Mountains, the largest sweet-water lake, the Arenal Lagoon, beautiful hotels and the International Airport Juán Santamaría near the capital.

Cartago Province

With the following Cantons: Cartago   Paraíso   La Unión   Jiménez   Turrialba  Alvarado   Oreamuno  and El Guarco.

Province with the capital with the same name features the famous Basilica, the best Technical University, lots of Mountains, Volcanoes and the best White Water Rafting opportunities in Costa Rica's Central Highlands. Cartago has numerous farmer villages with different plantations producing coffee, vegetables, sugar cane, potatoes, macadamia nuts, pejibayes, and ornamental plants. It has National Parks and Protected Wildlife Refuges like the Zapantí National Park, the Irazú Volcano National Park, and the Guayabo National Monument, which is the largest and most important archaeological site discovered in Costa Rica.

Guanacaste Province

With the following Cantons: Liberia   Nicoya   Santa Cruz   Bagaces   Carrillo   Cañas   Abangares   Tilarán   Nandayure   La Cruz  and Hojancha.

Liberia is the Capital of this hot and dry Province with the peninsula Nicoya to the south and bordering Nicaragua to the north. It features the so called beautiful "Gold Coast" of the Northern Pacific Region with lots of beaches and a paradise for sport-fishermen, surfers and sun-lovers. It also features an active volcano, the Rincón de la Vieja, and wide Prairies with lots of cattle raising, sugar cane, and rice plantations. In the 18th Century some neighbours of Rivas established their houses and cattle farms in the northern part of the Nicoya Peninsula at crossroads that connected the towns of Bagaces, Nicoya and Rivas. The place was baptized after a famous Guanacaste tree that grows in the neighbourhood.

Heredia Province

With the following Cantons: Heredia   Barva   Santo Domingo   Santa Bárbara   San Rafael   San Isidro   Belén   Flores   San Pablo  and Sarapiquí.

Herdia with its capital with the same name which is located near San José and also not far from the International Airport. This province is full of surprises, high mountains, jungle, plains, volcanoes, rivers and many Suburbs of the Central Highlands. Heredia goes also all way to Nicaragua and offers an immense variety of nature activities on the way. From River Nature and Canopy Tours to Bird Watching you'll find just about everything. In Heredia one can find some industrial zones, but most of the area is dedicated to agriculture growing coffee, vegetables, sugar cane, fruits, corn, beans, dairy-farming, flower and plant exportation.

Limón Province

With the following Cantons: Limón   Pococí   Siquirres   Talamanca   Matina y Guácimo.

The capital of Limón also has the same name as the Province. It is situated along the Caribbean Sea on the Atlantic Coast with some of the most beautiful Beaches and nature attractions and parks of Costa Rica, like the Tortuguero National Park, the Bri Bri Indians Reserve with the largest indigenous tribe in the country, Banana Port and a Caribbean-style, multi-ethnic, laid-back atmosphere you won't find anywhere else. This province stretches all way from Panama to Nicaragua. The name of the Province comes from a Lemon Tree that was found in front of the governor's office which was unique of its class. The principal activities of the area are banana, pineapple, and palm-oil production as well as pejibaye, cocoa, bamboo, beans, fruits, coconuts and some cattle farming and fishing.

Puntarenas Province

With the following Cantons: Puntarenas   Esparza   Buenos Aires   Montes de Oro   Osa   Aguirre   Golfito   Coto Brus   Parrita   Corredores  and Garabito.

The capital with the same name is also an important port, or harbour town for the fishing industry, and cruise-ships alike. It is also the most important province for tourism, stretching all way from the beach towns of Mal País, Montezuma, Tambor on the Nicoya Peninsula to Panama with an endless variety of large undisturbed beaches and breathtaking sunsets. But it also covers mountain areas like Monteverde and Tilarán. It has the most hotels and a variety of vacation activities like Rainforest Trams, Crocodile Tours, swimming with Dolphins, the best Surf in all Latin America, and many famous National Parks like Manuel Antonio. It also offers some of areas with the greatest Bio Diversity of the world in the Absolute Natural Reserve of Cabo Blanco, Dominical, as well as the Corcovado National Park near Drake Bay and the Piedras Blancas National Park near Golfito. Next to tourism, little more inland, there are also lots of agricultural and industrial areas, that produce vegetables, roots, corn, coffee, cocoa, tobacco, rice, palm oil, sugar, and beans and some cattle farming.

San José Province

With the following Cantons: San José   Escazú   Desamparados   Puriscal   Tarrazú   Aserrí   Mora   Goicoechea   Santa Ana   Alajuelita   Vásquez de Coronado   Acosta   Tibás   Moravia   Montes de Oca   Turrubares   Dota   Curridabat   Pérez Zeledón  and León Cortés.

San José, also called the hub of the Costa Rica in the Central Valley with the Capital of the province as well as the country with the same name. It is home of an endless list of Suburbs in the Central Highlands where most of the population and businesses of Costa Rica reside. But it stretches all way to San Isidro El General touching almost the pacific coast. The province of San José offers also some of the highest mountains with high peaks like the Cerro de la Muerte and Chiripó with 3821m, and with Braulio Carillo one of the largest and least disturbed National Park, as well as wild mountain valleys like the one of the Savegre River.

Find everything in your Town, Village or Beach
Information A-Z  More  Home

Costa Rica Province of Guanacaste Costa Rica Province of Alajuela Costa Rica Province Heredia Costa Rica Province San José Costa Rica Province Cartago Costa Rica Province Puntarenas Costa Rica Rovince Puntarenas